inclusion

This year is different for me as a special education teacher.As previously mentioned, I historically was a resource or pullout special education teacher. I taught my own classes (usually 3-6 kids in each) in my own classroom.

I am now 75% inclusion. I have 2 classes that are pullout, and the rest of my day is spent “roaming.” I go to the classes that my kids are in and try to subtly keep them on track. I respond to teacher concerns about homework, behavior, social skills, hygiene, and whatever else.

I’ve been a bit insecure lately in that I’m wondering if I’m doing all I can to be as best a support for my kids as possible. When I was directly working with them, it was easy because I was teaching them. Now that I’m an indirect support, it is more difficult to gauge whether my interventions are helpful or not.

My kids this year are pretty decent – that is, their behaviors are quite manageable. Therefore, I’m not spending much of my day babysitting kids in in-school-suspension or time-out or whatever you want to call it. I go to classes and the kids are pretty much doing what they’re supposed to be doing. Sometimes one or two redirections is all that is needed to keep them going.

So I feel kind of useless at times.

There are days when I don’t sit still for 2 seconds – these days remind me of the good old days of pullout…

But most days are rather uneventful. It is these days where I question myself and my role in my students’ education. It was my goal at the beginning of the year to be more collaborative with my students’ teachers. I know I’m doing it more than ever, but am I doing it enough? How do I know? Who do I compare myself to? What does good collaboration in inclusion look like?

Part of the problem with this is my philosophy that students are pretty much responsible for themselves at this age (13-15 years), and I will not nag them to get things done. I will make sure the expectation is clear, then allow the student the choice to get it right or mess up. If they get it right, all is well. If they mess up, negative consequences ensue. I sometimes wonder if this philosophy is too “hands-off.” Should I be giving kids more chances? Am I being too passive-aggressive?

I’ve never really seen “good” inclusion in any other schools (student-teaching or wherever), so this is why I don’t have a model to go by. I know there are seminars out there that teach about inclusion strategies, but I’ve had such poor luck with seminars lately that I’m not willing to try one out for this purpose. I look to the experts of the world who can offer some ideas and/or guidelines for what good inclusion support looks like for EBD students who typically fare pretty well. Lay ‘em on me.

One response to “inclusion

  1. Hi Mr. Malcore,
    It sounds like you’ve become more incognito aide-like rather than teacheresque when you leave your home classroom and push-in to another. It also seems like you’re stuck roaming among your students trying to make sure that everyone is on task, like a policeman rather than a teacher. Being in a situation like that isn’t fair or fun. I would connect with your most cooperative cooperating teacher(s) and ask if you could change things up a bit with various co-teaching models and/or role reversals. You need to be up at the front of the classroom, not on the sidelines because once you push in to the general education classroom, you’re in a less restrictive environment and your role changes. What would be your ideal inclusion situation if you could orchestrate the teachers and all the students you’ve been working within this setting? If you start there, you might see a way for you to improve your situation.

Leave a Reply

